top of page

15th Hero Women's Indian Open to kick-off from Oct 19

The event will witness golfers from Argentina, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, India, Spain, South Africa, Slovenia, Scotland, Thailand and Wales, among others.

The 15th edition of the Hero Women’s Indian Open, the flagship Ladies European Tour (LET) event in Asia, is set to take place from October 19 to 22 at the DLF Golf and Country Club in Gurugram. The event, this year, will witness 120 players from more than 25 countries. They will compete for a reward of $60,000, along with a high-end phone and a stunning watch.

Diksha Dagar, the highest ranked Indian on the LET’s Race to Costa del Sol, from India will lead the Indian challenge. Dagar, who is extremely disciplined about her game, hopes to scale new heights at the upcoming event.

While talking about her preparation and technique, she says, “I am planning to stay calm and composed. I will only focus on the game. I believe that success only comes if you shift your focus on practice rather than bothering about what people think about you or your performance. And, once I am in the competition, I try to enjoy the game. I do not get overthink about my performance and this helps me stay focussed.”

Besides Dagar, Gaurika Bishnoi and Hitaashee Bakshi will also compete at the event from India.

Bishnoi, who finished seventh last year, hopes to improve her performance this year.

“It is surreal to play at my home turf. It won’t have been without Hero’s support. Last year, I came in really close and I am looking forward to closing it this time,” she shares.

The 15th edition of the event will feature golfers from Argentina, Slovenia, Wales, Scotland and Germany. It will also feature six other winners from the current season.

These include Thai Trichat Cheenglab (Big Green Egg Open in Netherlands), Denmark’s Smilia Tarning Soenderby (KPMG Women’s Irish Open), Spaniard Nuria Iturrioz (La Sella Open in Spain), Spaniard Carmen Alonso (Ladies Open by Pickala Rock Resort in Finland), Lisa Pettersson (Helsingborg Open in Sweden) and German Patricia Isabel Schmidt (Belgian Ladies Open).

At least eight other winners from the 2022 schedule will also tee off. These include Lee Anne Pace of South Africa, Liz Young and Meghan MacLaren of England, Ana Pelaez Trivino, Manon de Roey of Belgium, Jana Melikova of Czech Republic, Anne Charlotte Mora of France and Johanna Gustavsson of Sweden.

Till a few years ago, golf was a male-dominated game in India. Champika Sayal, Secretary General at Women's Golf Association of India, points out the change was possible after the facilities were improved in the clubs.

“Till 2012, clubs in India lacked basic facilities such as women washrooms. When our players went out and played golf, it was very difficult for our young girls in the earlier days to play due to lack of washrooms. Girls were scared and parents were also not willing to send their children to these clubs. But it took some eight to nine years for these issues to get recognised and things have looked up since then,” she clarifies.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page